Lift kits

ronin777

Member 2024
New Forum User
Hello everyone. This has probably been asked many times so please forgive me. I have been talking to a couple of Jeep places in the area about regearing, lockers, axle shaft upgrades, and lift kits. As far as the lift kits go, which brand would you recommend. My TJ will be a daily driver but I would like to use it on some trails as much as I can when time allows it. Nothing super crazy, but I want a good lift kit (not too basic). I've been quoted for Metal Cloak, Rusty's and Rock Krawler but since I am a newbie, I'd like to get your opinions as far as the quality and reliability these companies. I've heard of Curries but that is a bit on the pricey side for me. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Good place to start is

Next question. What is the goal of your build? There are lots of short arm systems out there. On a TJ I would look at a long arm system for better geometry. Clayton makes a solid bolt on system that has great reviews.

What is your budget?
For all of what you are talking about lift, lockers regear tires wheels you are going to be in the $12,000 range having some one install. Short arm be mindful of the amount of lift. TJ control arms are short. This messes with geometry.

A serious upgrade would be a coilover suspension great ride on and off road but dig deep they are $$$$$$$$$.

One way to control costs is have a wrenching party. If you don't have the space or tools people will open their garages to you. But be prepared to get hands on.
You can do the lift, axle shafts, ball joints and steering gear on a wrenching party. The gearing and lockers shop around for quotes. I will refrain from recommending a shop. They all have good and bad days.

Cheers

Good place to start is

Next question. What is the goal of your build? There are lots of short arm systems out there. On a TJ I would look at a long arm system for better geometry. Clayton makes a solid bolt on system that has great reviews.