How clean is too clean?

I came into possession of my grandfathers 1911 from D-Day. It's an ithica so kinda rare. It's been stored off and on since 1944 in various ways and conditions. It's not all original unfortunately but Pop-Clough decided when the little ones were very little to cut the firing pin and barrel in half to keep it safe. Ahh life in the 50s. Dad replaced some parts of it but it's petina is my favorite.

That all being said it still works. Still fires. And still gets cleaned when it comes home from the range. How do you stop cleaning to much off though? I've got a few parts and pieces and other guns cerakoted and I want to avoid that with this one leaving it as stock as possible.

So what do you do? How do you care for a gun older then you and your wife combined?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/nUwAv3MtMZ2H78h7A

I'm not an expert, but I'd at least keep it wiped down in CLP to keep any rust at bay.

Not sure if it's worth having it reblued or anything like that.

My Kimber Classic Royal has some slide and lever wear that I've elected to keep it as it is and not reblue.  I don't think it will look any better than it does now.

Really either you use it and clean it or you clean it and leave it sit.  As parts wear out and need replaced, do that.  It is worth more in original condition, so Cerakote or re blue reduces the value if that matters.

My non expert take is this.

1: Clean after use. Part of that cleaning is removing any and all finger prints so parts which have the bluing worn off do not corrode due to acids in your skin oils/sweat. I have a silicone rag I use for the blued surfaces on my 1948 savage rifle to protect it after a cleaning.

2. CLP or similar as a rust and corrosion preventative

3. store in a proper case with a desicant. Swipe some silica gel packs from the next pair of shoes you buy.

4. If you want to help prolong the life of the original mags, don't store them loaded. It can make the spring "sag".